The Masterpiece Map
Privatklinik Confraternität U-Bahn-Station Josefstädter Straße Laudongasse Café Hummel Restaurant Fuhrmann Josefstädter Straße Bar 25hours Hotel Museumsquartier Natur- & Kunsthistorisches Museum Hofburg Theater in der Josefstadt Rathaus Burgtheater Stephansdom Schottentor/Universität U-Bahn-Station Alser Straße St. Anna Kinderspital Privatklinik Goldenes Kreuz Wiener Privatklinik AKH Donaukanal Votivkirche Altes AKH Alser Straße The Masterpiece
the masterpiece

Distances

TanzschuhOn foot

  • Line 1, 5, 33, 43, 44, 13A
  • 2 Minutes
  • Altes AKH
  • 5 Minutes
  • U6 Alser Straße
  • 10 Minutes

AutoCar

  • Vienna airport
  • 35 Minutes
  • Pötzleinsdorfer Schloßpark
  • 17 Minutes
  • Connection to A4/A23
  • 17 Minutes

FahrradBicycle

  • Schottentor/University
  • 5 Minutes
  • Danube canal
  • 7 Minutes
  • Centre/St. Stephen's
  • 11 Minutes

StraßenbahnPublic transport

  • Line 43/44 to City/Freyung
  • 14 Minutes
  • U6 to Westbahnhof
  • 14 Minutes
  • Line 13A/U3 to Wien Mitte
  • 23 Minutes

thriving
cultural scene

Kulturszene
Kulturszene

There are many historic and cultural venues and cabarets in the area around Skodagasse 15 that whet your appetite for the arts.Theater in der Josefstadt – with more than 350,000 visitors per season – is Vienna’s oldest theatre. The place where Johann Nestroy and Ferdinand Raimund made their debuts, the cast today thrills audiences with a successful mix of traditional pieces and premieres by contemporary authors. Vienna’s English Theatre, which was established in 1963, stands out today as Europe’s oldest foreign-language theatre. World premieres with nationally and internationally famous actors attract visitors to Josefsgasse to experience this cultural gem. The neighbouring square in front of Vienna’s City Hall is used practically year round as a popular venue for events – from the famous Christmas Market including an ice- skating rink in winter to the international film festival in summer with culinary treats from around the world.

The baroque Schönborn garden palace in Laudongasse is a real gem, which today houses the Austrian Museum of Folk Life and Folk Art. The romantic gardens of the adjacent Schönborn park with its fountains, thick hedges, and impressive trees is today one of the most beautiful and idyllic places in the 8th district.

Kulturszene 02

Gallery

The Masterpiece Map
Privatklinik Confraternität U-Bahn-Station Josefstädter Straße Laudongasse Café Hummel Restaurant Fuhrmann Josefstädter Straße Bar 25hours Hotel Museumsquartier Natur- & Kunsthistorisches Museum Hofburg Theater in der Josefstadt Rathaus Burgtheater Stephansdom Schottentor/Universität U-Bahn-Station Alser Straße St. Anna Kinderspital Privatklinik Goldenes Kreuz Wiener Privatklinik AKH Donaukanal Votivkirche Altes AKH Alser Straße The Masterpiece
the masterpiece

Distanzen

TanzschuhZu Fuss

  • Linie 1, 5, 33, 43, 44, 13A
  • 2 Minuten
  • Altes AKH
  • 5 Minuten
  • U6 Alser Straße
  • 10 Minuten

AutoAuto

  • Flughafen Wien
  • 35 Minuten
  • Pötzleinsdorfer Schloßpark
  • 17 Minuten
  • Anschluss A4/A23
  • 17 Minuten

FahrradFahrrad

  • Schottentor/Universität
  • 5 Minuten
  • Donaukanal
  • 7 Minuten
  • Zentrum/Stephansplatz
  • 11 Minuten

StraßenbahnÖffentlich

  • Linie 43/44 zur City/Freyung
  • 14 Minuten
  • U6 zum Westbahnhof
  • 14 Minuten
  • Linie 13A/U3 nach Wien Mitte
  • 23 Minuten

FLORIERENDE
KULTURSZENERIE

Kulturszene
Kulturszene

Rund um die Skodagasse 15 im 8. Bezirk finden Sie eine Vielzahl an geschichtsträchtigen und kulturellen Spielstätten und Kleinkunstbühnen, die Lust auf Kultur wecken. Das Theater in der Josefstadt – mit mehr als 350.000 Besuchern pro Spielzeit – ist das älteste Theater Wiens. Wo bereits Johann Nestroy und Ferdinand Raimund debütierten, begeistert das Ensemble heute mit einem gelungenen Mix aus Klassikern und Uraufführungen zeitgenössischer Autoren. Das 1963 gegründete Vienna’s English Theatre brilliert heute als ältestes Fremdsprachentheater Europas. Weltaufführungen mit national und international bekannten Schauspielern locken in die kulturelle Kostbarkeit in der Josefsgasse. Auch der angrenzende Rathausplatz wird fast ganzjährig bespielt – vom berühmten Christkindlmarkt samt Eislaufplatz im Winter bis hin zum internationalen Filmfestival im Sommer mit kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten aus aller Welt.

Als wahres Glanzstück gilt das barocke Gartenpalais Schönborn in der Laudongasse, das heute das österreichische Volkskundemuseum beherbergt. Die romantische Gartenlandschaft des benachbarten Schönbornparks mit Springbrunnen, dichten Hecken und imposanten Bäumen zählt heute zu den schönsten und idyllischsten Plätzen des 8. Bezirks.

Kulturszene 02

Galerie